top of page

Product Review: Saie Mascara 101

Saie is a fairly new and up-and-coming Green Beauty brand that entered the scene at Sephora online as of early 2021. They are a small, curated makeup line known for being good for functional beauty basics, their Mascara 101 ranking near the top of the list.


In my experience, mascara Is an area where cleaner, Greener brands often struggle. The formulas vacillate between being overly waxy and dry and flaky or else too oil rich and overly smeary. Mascara 101, however, is none of these things.


The formula is rich in conditioning beeswax and also contains some shea butter, which not only help moisturize the lash hairs but also helps the formula to glide on effortlessly and stay comfortable through out the day‘s wear but without being at all too liquidy to where it smudges. I also appreciate the complex of minerals they put in here to help strengthen the lashes to not only help them look better but also help them hold their shape and just be healthier in general. Particularly, the blend of minerals they use is rich in potassium, which helps to fortify hair shafts and reduce breakage or fallout.


Overall, this mascara is genius at staying in place, even through the Spring allergy season I went through when originally testing this. Interestingly, when I first opened this there was a soft botanical smell to the formula almost like green tea. However, the fragrance was light and soon faded and it never irritated my sensitive eyes, which was a relief.


The effect of this mascara ion my lashes one of lifted curvy volume. Saie describes it as being a “long and lifted lash look”, and I am inclined to agree. Yet, while I do see some lengthening action, I would say that this makes my lashes look more thick than extra long. Despite it having a thickening effect, this mascara can still look very subtle with one coat, but two or even three really packs a punch in amping up the drama. Especially when using the tapered, conical brush tip to really push up and flare out the lashes on the outside corners of the eye, you can really mimic the look of a full set of false eyelashes it Is very versatile in that sense.


But whether you apply one coat or several, this formula remains lightweight, clump-resistant, and, as the claims imply very, very lifted. This mascara gives me the best curly eyelashes straight out of the tube, and no lash curler is required for me to make them stay this way. That said, I think because of its soft, fluffy, yet strong gold, I think this mascara would be an ideal one to use with a lash curler for even more enhancement if eyelash curlers are a part of your routine already.


Mascara 101 is wonderful clean beauty standout and is becoming a versatile and cherished feature in my makeup collection, being the chameleon product I want to top off any makeup look I envision while being a comfortable formula that enhances the health of my lashes as I use it. What more could be asked for? Currently, it retails for $26 USD and is available on the Saie Beauty website, HelloSaie.com, and on Sephora.com and is now available in both a black and a warm brown hue. There is also a mini size of the black shade available (a GREAT option not only for trying and travel but also to ensure you get your money's worth before needing to replace mascaras within the 3-5 month safety window usually recommended) for $16 USD.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page